Teacher Program Interview Prep…1,2,3 Let’s go

Why do you want to teach?

The teachers I had in the past, made me want to be a teacher because of the passion they had for teaching and how much they cared about their students. Being in class, I thought how much I wanted to be in their position one day and impact the lives of students. I want to teach because I  want to work in a classroom, helping students discover their love for learning. I have always loved to go to school and learn new things. I want students to get engaged in class and get excited about what they will learn each day. Students in my class will feel comfortable and safe. I want students to always feel comfortable to ask any questions and to come to me when they are having any problems.

Clarify thoughts on essay

I wrote my essay about critical thinking, I believe critical thinking is a very important skill for everyone to have. Individuals need to learn and grow their critical thinking skills in the classroom. This should start when very young. Different learning activities can do this, pros and cons charts, research papers, discussions in class, making a story book . I think the best way for critical thinking skills to be increased would be to have students to come up with solutions for problems that occur internationally, nationally, and locally. Students would be able to discuss what they feel is the biggest problem and how they would solve this or what could be done by society. For smaller problems, students would be able to actually work to solve the problem. Students would be getting educated and thinking critically about the many problems, analyzing what choices to take. When students learn to critically think, they will be comfortable with making choices, be able to talk intelligently, and most importantly they will become great thinkers.

Talk about democracy 

Students need to know what a democracy is and that they live in a democracy. I want the class to reflect the society they will live in, so the classroom will be democratic. On the first day of class, I will address the role of the class. I will tell the class that we are a team and we are working together to succeed in all our learning. Students will have class jobs or roles, so they feel part of the class. The class will be student-centered. Students will get options on what assignments they will want to do, all will successfully fulfill the of the lesson plan goals.  Students will feel comfortable to ask questions anything and will be able to express themselves in discussion.

How would my future class look like?

My future classroom will be a class that’s colorful and filled with motivational quotes. I think students will be happy to look up and see positive quotes to inspire them to always do their best. The desks will be grouped into four desks, so that communication will be available when needed. In my class, I will have a suggestion box for students to write down things that they liked or disliked in class and things they would want.

 

Teachers give me some tips on what I should remember to say??

 

xo

Tina

 

Leave a comment